Europe, Food, Switzerland, Video
Comments 4

Making Sussmost in Switzerland

When it comes to beverages, I’m a pretty plain Jane kind of girl. Much to Tyler’s disappointment I think. He loves his snobby coffees and his craft beers. He is always reading up on the newest producers and types of production. He is in the know when it comes to drinks.

I, on the other hand, drink just water and tea. And maayyybe a Long Island Iced Tea if I’m feeling wild like I want to drink socially. (And yes, I know that’s made with coke. That’s why I ask them to make it with tea! Yes, I do. I ask the bartender.) But on the odd chance I’m in a hotel and I’m feeling the need to #getmymoneysworth, I will drink apple juice with breakfast. It’s something I suffer through, like eating yogurt. It’s good for me. So I drink it once or twice a year.

But sussmost.. this is an entirely different kind of apple juice. It may actually be similar to all those nasty cold ciders people drink, but something about knowing where the apples are picked and seeing the machines my family uses to press them… it just makes the drink so refreshing and delicious. Under the umbrella of apfelsaft (apple juice), süßmost is the sweet child, with apfelwein at the sour other end, and ghürotne right in the middle.

Süßmost
/ˈzyːs moːʃt/
noun
– unfermented apple juice or cider
– English spelling: sussmost

I’ve grown up seeing the sussmost presses in my family’s barn, and I’ve drunk the sweet cider every summer I’ve been in Switzerland. Once when I was younger, we were there at just the right time to help sell it from the street booth at the end of the season. This year, Tyler and I were lucky enough to help prepare the sussmost for our family reunion. We helped pick apples from a few different orchards, wash the apples in the outdoor trough, cut out the bruised spots (fun fact: we only use apples that have already fallen to the ground), and then grind and press the apples in the truly antique machine.

And we got to bike everywhere with a cute apple cart! Totally felt like mini farmers. Loved it. Hope you love the video of it :)

4 Comments

  1. Kathy Mast says

    Linda & Tyler what a joy to read your posts from time to time. Thank you for sharing. May God continue to keep you safe on your journey. I am curious though if you encounter conversations about the world events around Islam, Israel, Russia’s attack on Syria and/or the Lords return? And when you were in Alaska did you get plugged into a local church? You may have mentioned that and I may have missed it. God bless. Kathy Mast

    Like

    • Hi Kathy! Thanks for stopping in once in awhile! Yes, we did attend a church in Anchorage. We met some of our closest friends there, and we actually knew a lot of friends/acquaintances from college who also attended there (same denomination). As far as conversations around here, not so much. People are more apt to talk about the refugee/immigrant problem on the southern coasts of Europe. It’s very sad and a difficult issue with some countries more willing than others to take people in.

      Like

  2. Hi Linda,
    I had never heard of Sussmost before but it sounds like a fun experience making it! Thanks for sharing. I’m a lot like you in that I only like drinking a few things, one of which happens to be diet coke (I know, it’s a terrible habit but it’s my caffeine replacement for coffee). Looking forward to following you and reading your blog regularly.
    Blessings,
    Kimberly

    Like

    • Hi Kimberly! It was so fun.. and such a refreshing change to my regular sweet tea habit ;) You know, a little treat every so often (like diet coke) is good! :)

      Like

We'd dig it if you dropped a line and said hello : )